cancer, Leukemia, marathons, running, Writing

Alicia and Patty: Kindred Souls

920x920Patty_0006 (1)

On Sunday June 26, Margie and I ran the Mango Days 5K, held each year at Ala Moana Park, not far from Waikiki Beach.  The run is named after our daughter Patty’s book, Mango Days, which I compiled from her personal journal, poems and letters to her best friend.  Patty (above right) died of non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma at age 18, before she was able to finish even one year of college.

Very recently, in an ongoing bid to clean up my office, I was sorting through saved mail when I came across a handwritten letter from Alicia Parlette (above left), then employed by the San Francisco Chronicle.  She had read Mango Days and was deeply touched.

In the letter, Alicia writes that despite a hectic personal schedule, “I had to stop everything and write to you.”

“Patty and I would have been friends, I know it.  First of all she’s the only other person in the world who actually thought about being a copy editor (smiley face sketched in).  Some of her personal entries . . . particularly the ones about writing resemble some of mine from when I was 16, 17, 18.  And I LOVE mangoes!”

She goes on:  “I lied. The thing I wanted to do after I leafed through her book wasn’t to write to you.  I wanted to write her.”

“And I think I will.  I do this with my mom.  I write her letters and leave them on her grave until the cemetery keepers throw them away.  She and Patty had the same disease, you know.  Another connection.”

The letter was written in October 2005.  Seven years earlier, Alicia had herself developed cancer, experiencing pain in the area of her right hip, forcing her to drop out of cross country running.

That’s still another connection.  Patty, too, loved to run, and at age 17 completed the Honolulu Marathon.  Crossing that finish line was perhaps the proudest moment of her life.

Alicia died on April 22, 2012.  During her final days, friends read aloud to her, To Kill A Mocking Bird, her favorite book.  She died twenty minutes after the last chapter was finished.

I wish Patty and Alicia could have met. Who knows? Maybe they are having a good conversation even now!

 

 

Standard

4 thoughts on “Alicia and Patty: Kindred Souls

  1. Pat Fox says:

    Kit, are both pictures of Patty? Or is the black and white photo Alicia? They both LOOK like Patty. This is the tenderest sweetest story of love. loss, the passage of time, the crossing of paths, the spikes of remembrance. A chance to relish what we have and had.
    Pat

    • Alicia is on the left, Patty on the right, in color. And yes, they do look alike! I thought that made the “story” even more touching. Thanks for your beautiful comment.

  2. Susan Hooper says:

    Dear Kit—What a lovely column about two beautiful young women! I have read it twice already and I am already looking forward to reading it again. I agree with your friend Pat Fox that Patty and Alicia resemble each other a great deal, and clearly they were kindred souls, too. I hope, as you do, that their spirits have found each other and that they are having wonderful long conversations about writing and favorite books and running and copy editing. My heart is full of sadness that they are not with us today, but I am so grateful that you wrote this column to honor them and their beautiful souls. And by the way, I still have the copy of “Mango Days” that you gave me in March 1993 on the bookshelf next to my bed. This column is a reminder to me to look through it again, as Patty’s words have been a source of inspiration to me for the last 23 years.—With much aloha, Susan

    • Hi again Susan — My goodness, how touched Margie and I are that you responded with such a kind and full note. And wow, you have looked through the book multiple times over the years. I, too, have a copy of Mango Days on a book shelf by our bed and look through it from time to time. Mango Days clearly was the right title for it, although I had thought briefly of something like “Letters to Susie,” because much of the book consists of letters written to her best friend, Susie Chun. The two worked many, many hours on the Punahou School yearbook, the Oahuan. Much aloha, Kit

Leave a Reply

